RusAccreditation Deputy Head Alexander Litvak Takes Part in EASC Meeting

July 04, 2019

The 55th meeting of the Euro-Asian Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification of the Commonwealth of Independent States (EASC) took place in Pyatigorsk on June 26-28. The meeting was attended by delegations of national standardization and accreditation bodies of eight countries, as well as representatives of the CIS Executive Committee and the Bureau of Standards.

The meeting was observed by representatives of the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), the Austrian Standards Institute, the Institute for Standardization of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BAS), the British Standards Institution (BSI), the Slovenian Institute for Standardization (SIST), the Turkish Standards Institution (TSE), the Euro-Asian Cooperation of National Metrological Institutions (COOMET), and the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC).

On June 26, RusAccreditation Deputy Head Alexander Litvak made a report on the establishment of the Regional Organization (Association) for Accreditation (ROA) at the international conference “The New Strategy for Cooperation Development within EASC: Living up to Expectations of National Quality Infrastructure Organizations in Today’s World.” According to him, the establishment of ROA should be aimed to support the development of regional trade and economic cooperation, provide a tool for international recognition of the regional state accreditation bodies, and create conditions for professional interaction of participants of the National Accreditation Systems of the countries in the region. RusAccreditation is an active member of the ROA Working Group, and a number of RusAccreditation’s initiatives have been approved, including its development of the draft of the ROA Charter.

The EASC meeting participants adopted the 2030 vision for the development of the Euro-Asian Council for Standardization, Metrology and Certification, created a working group for the EASC development strategy, approved a report form for national standards, and accepted a draft program for cooperation with EEC and a draft of Contest Regulations for the CIS Award for achievements in production and service. The 55th EASC meeting resulted in the signing of the Protocol for Metrology Cooperation between EASC and COOMET.

The participants elected Chairman of the Technical Regulation and Metrology Committee of the Ministry of Industry and Infrastructural Development of the Republic of Kazakhstan Arman Shakkaliyev as Chairman of EASC, while Head of the Federal Agency for Technical Regulating and Metrology Alexey Abramov and Director General of the Standardization, Metrology and Certification Agency of the Republic of Uzbekistan Dilshod Sattarov were elected as Сo-Сhairmen.